My Pindiyath Nose

Today’s Scintilla Project prompt that inspired my story is “What talent do you have that your usual blog readers don’t know about? Talk about a time when you showed it to its best advantage.” 

To try and choose a particular talent of mine to blog about is not easy, although it would be pretentious of me to say that I have too many to choose from. In a way it is true, and I consider myself versatile: the Jack-of-all-trades sort. But to pick any one and describe it in details seems all the more pretentious to me, so I’ve decided to discuss my most unusual talent, something I’ve inherited from my father’s maternal family, the Pindiyaths.

I can touch my tongue to the tip of my nose.

Indeed, it is an unusual talent, and I have my ancestors to thank for bestowing upon my face the majesty of the Pindiyath nose, curved ever so slightly like a question mark punctuated by my cleft chin.

But I did not always think so highly of this nose. I disliked it immensely as it grew differently from the rest of my face, earning me names like: White Crow, Parrot, etc. Except of course, when it came to showing off my rather strange skill, because that was when I owned it completely. Facilitated by the smallish upper lip inherited from the same source, I would show off at dance class when still a middle school student, and watch in absolute amusement as the other girls tried their best to get their tongues to touch the tips of their noses, some even trying to push their chins upwards with their palms. As I grew older, my face filled out, but the distance between my nose and tongue has stayed about the same. The gross awesomeness of my little quirk, to me, beats ear wriggling, and cannot be mastered easily, like say, how I taught my eyebrows to be independent of each other. It is what makes me, me.

I’ll bet those of you reading this have tried it too.

And I just did it again.

Mwahahahahaha.

Leave a Reply

